The G. Bruce Blair Recipients: 1954 to Present
The G. Bruce Blair Recipients: 1954 to Present

The G. Bruce Blair Recipients: 1954 to Present

YearNameAwarded for
1954Mr. Albert G. Ingalls ATM pioneer and author. of ATM 1, 2 and 3. 
1955Prof. Walter H. Haas Founder of ALPO, Co-founded WAA. 
1956Dr. Otto Struve Leading 20th Century astronomy popularizer. 
1957Dr. Margaret Mayall Director AAVSO 1949-1973. 
1958Dr. Dinsmore Alter Director Griffith Obs. & Co-founder of WAA Board. 
1959Dr. Earle G. Linsley Director Chabot Obs. 1923-1947 & Co-founder of EAS and WAA.  
1960Mr. David Barcroft ALPO secretary 1947-1974. 
1961Mr. Carl WellsWAA founder and well known ATM.  
1962Arthur & Natalie Leonard Active participants of Moonwatch & WAA. 
1963Mr. Thomas Cragg Solar, planetary, and variable star observer.  
1964Mr. Walter Scott Houston Author of “Deep Sky Wonders.” 
1965Dr. Clyde Tombaugh Discoverer of the Planet Pluto.  
1966Dr. Clarence P. CusterActive in the WAA and famous astrophotographer.  
1967Dr. Leslie C. Peltier Famous comet and variable star observer. 
1968Dr. David Dunham Long-time coordinator of grazing occultation observations.  
1969Mr. Thomas R. CaveTelescope Manufacturer and Mars observer.  
1970Mr. Charles F. Capen Expert observer, especially of Mars.  
1971Mr. George A. Carroll  West coast builder of large telescopes. 
1972Mr. Clinton Ford Long-time Secretary of the AAVSO.
1973Mr. Raymond Coutchie Astronomical artist, astrophotographer, and author.
1974Mr. John Dobson Popularized the “Dobsonian” telescope design.  
1975Mr. Clifford W. Holmes  Founded the Riverside Telescope Makers Conference.  
1976Mr. Patrick Moore  Famous astronomical popularizer and author.  
1977Mr. Frank Miller  Very active in AANC and WAA organizations. 
1978Mr. Jackson CarleWell known Central Valley ATM.  
1979Mr. Kingsley W. Wightman Long-time teacher of Astronomy at Chabot Observatory. 
1980Mr. Paul Zurakowski Well known ATM; Director of Chabot ATM workshop. 
1981Mr. Ashley Thomas McDermott Professor and astronomy popularizer in southern California. 
1982Mr. Douglas BergerFounder of Astronomy Day.  
1983Mr. John Sanford Astrophotographer, teacher and author. 
1984Mr. Chesley Bonestall Famous astronomical artist. 
1985Ms. Betty Neall WAA secretary in 50s. Astronomical organizer in northern Calif. 
1986Mr. Ben MayerFamous west coast astrophotographer. 
1987Mr. Jack Borde Long time ATM, and a participant in WAA, MDAS and Moonwatch.
1988Mr. Stephen J. Edberg Famous international amateur astronomer. 
1989Dr. Harold F. Weaver ASP patron and long-time supporter of amateur astronomy. 
1990Mr. David H. Levy Teacher of young people, author and comet discoverer. 
1991Dr. John Westfall ALPO director & coordinator of Pro – Amateur research projects. 
1992Mr. Kevin Medlock Builder of large amateur telescopes. 
1993Mr. Tom JohnsonCelestron founder, popularizer of Schmidt-Cassegrain telescopes. 
1995Mr. Don MachholzDiscoveror, observer and popularizer of comets.  
1996Dr. Ed KruppDirector of Griffith Observatory and book author. 
1997Mr. Robert Stevens  Educator, Secretary and Treasurer to RTMC.
1998Mr. Richard BerryPromoter of CCD astrometry, author of CCD Cookbook. 
1999Mrs. Denni Frerichs MedlockPast Secretary of WAA; Co-coordinator of Group 70.
2000Dr. Joel W. Goodman, PH.D. Bay area amateur, speaker, Docent MDOA, ALPO Saturn Recorder.  
2001Monsignor Ron RoyerAstrophotographer, early developer of tri-color photo process. 
2002Dr. Mike D. Reynolds  Director of Chabot Space Science Center. Active amateur supporter.
2003Mr. F. Jack EastmanWell known ATM, member of LAAS, DAS, advisor at Chamberlin Obsy.
2004Mrs. Jane Houston JonesPast Pres. of AANC, writer, Cassini Senior Outreach JPL  
2005Dr. David L. Crawford Teacher, co-founder of IDA, promotes sensible night lighting. 
2006Johm Christopher “Chris” Butler Artist, speaker. Program/exhibits director at Griffith Observatory.  
2007Mr. Carter Roberts Bay area amateur, CSSC and RTMC board member, Long time Pres. EAS. 
2008Ms. Marni Berendsen Developer NASA/ASP Night Sky Network. Leads Project ASTRO,author.
2009Mike Simmons Past Pres-LAAS. Founded MWOA and AWOB. 100hrsofAstronomy Co-Chair.  
2010Mr. Robert K. BuchheimResearcher, author, OCA Board Member/trustee, Board Member – SAS.  
2011Scott Roberts Amateur astronomer,formaer Meade rep. owner of Explore Scientific.  
2012Jim Benet OCA-Outreach Coordinator has reached more than 100K people in SoCal.
2013Albert J. Highe, PhD  Observer, Author, ATM, telescope designer, speaker and member of TAC. 
2014Richard Ozer Director of the Golden State Star Party, co-director of the Chabot Telescope Makers’ Workshop. 
2015Tim Thompson Public Outreach 
2016Nathan McKenna Zeiss Universarium Restoration Project at CSSC 
2017Jim and Virginia Strogen Founding of the Camden County Astronomy Association 
2018Wally PacholkaExceptional accomplishments in Astro-Imaging 
2019Conrad Jung Public Outreach in connection with Chabot Space & Sci. Center. 
2020Bing Quock Lifetime contribution to the Morrison Planetarium programming.